top of page

Review: Emirates A380 First Class (Long-haul)


September 21, 2016

Emirates 385 Hong Kong (HKG) - Bangkok (BKK) - Dubai (DXB) Departure: 2203 Arrival: 0457 Duration: 8:34 + 2:20 Technical Stop at BKK Aircraft: Airbus A380-861

Registration: A6-EDX Seat: 4A (First Class)

This inbound flight I am taking to Dubai is the exact aircraft I have used from Bangkok, so I will skip the basic details regarding this Airbus A380 and some others too. You can check my flight from Bangkok to Hong Kong in the previous blog. In this flight, I will mainly review about seats, Emirates Shower Spa, in-flight bar and different meals.

The Cabin:

Same cabin configuration but I had different seat. Since there were only 4/14 passenger on this flight to Dubai, the cabin looked really vacant.

Emirates A380 First Class cabin.

Emirates A380 stairway to main deck.

Emirates A380 First Class cabin: Starry night lighting.

The Seats:

I actually chose seat 4A on my flight from Bangkok but due to the air vent problem, I was assigned at 1A. Thankfully, the maintenance managed to fix it in few hours during my transfer so I changed my seat at the gate to seat 4A which was the last seat on the first class and it was located right in front of upper-deck door 1L. It was also right beside the galley (about 45 degree angle to the right), so I could hear noise by the cabin crew preparing meals and services throughout the flight.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4A.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4A.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4A: Welcome drink and snacks.

I did not know what this was a first (thought it was a hanger for jacket), but it is a tray table holder.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4A: Tray table.

Emirates A380 First Class Duvet and blanked stacked by the window seat.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4A: Interior of the suite with sliding door closed.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4A: Exterior of the suite with the sliding door closed forming a closed suite.

Emirates A380 First Class seat 4E and F with divider raised.

In-Flight Meals:

On this flight, prior to boarding the crews put a basket of my favorite snacks to enjoy before departure. From dried mangos to Lindt chocolate cookie, I had a lot of choices of snacks to fill up my stomach. And as usual, I was served with some Arabic coffee and dates.

As soon as the aircraft was in cruising altitude to Bangkok, this time, three-course dinner meals were served. This was my third full course meal in few hour time gap and I was so full I gradually went into deep sleep, waking up when we are taxiing to the gate at Dubai.

Emirates First Class pre-departure snacks.

Emirates First Class Arabic Coffee and Dates.

Emirates First Class Hong Kong - Bangkok - Dubai Menu:

Emirates First Class Hong Kong - Bangkok - Dubai Beverages:

Emirates Firs Class Dinner: Roasted duck for appetizer.

Emirates Firs Class Dinner: Main.

Emirates Firs Class Dinner: Fresh fruits.

Emirates Shower Spa:

After the long wait at Bangkok, the flight resumed to Dubai. When it was halfway on the flight, I asked one of the crew that I would like to use the Shower Spa. Few minutes later, the shower was ready and the crew told me in detail, the function of the spa.

The iconic Emirates Shower Spa are only available on A380s with First Class Cabin. There are two Shower Spas, each on the side of front section of the upper deck by the staircase. The Shower Spa on the left side (Seat1A) are slightly larger than the one on the right side (Seat 1K). Each first class passengers can take a short 5 minutes shower which is similar to the Etihad's shower. There is a timer to tell passengers the amount of time left which at first, the water will continuously flow until it reaches yellow and red mark, where the water flow will stop time by time to indicated there is short time left.

Variety of amenities kits such as body wash, shampoo and body lotions are provided in a tray for use. Towels are provided by the cabin crew if you want to use the shower.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa: The timer indicator is by the shower head.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa: Shower amenities.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa.

Emirates First Class Shower Spa.

Emirates On Board Bar:

Other than the minibar on first class and business class, Emirates is famous for its in-flight bar. The lounge bar is located in the aft section of the upper-deck, after the business class. There are two long bench on each side of the lounge with seat belts accompanied by mood lights. However, it is right between the business class and the galley, it can be really busy around the lounge.

Light snacks and your choice of drinks are provided throughout the flight. Just ask the flight attendants, and they will make you one of the best drinks above air.

Emirates In-Flight Bar.

Emirates In-Flight Bar: Seating lounge.

Emirates In-Flight Lounge.

Emirates In-Flight Lounge.

In-flight wi-fi:

Emirates provided in-flight wi-fi services to all passengers but it is too slow to use. I recommend for a light browser searches.

Emirates In-flight wi-fi.

Emirates In-flight wi-fi.

Emirates In-flight wi-fi.

Summary:

As I have mentioned above, on this flight, I was mainly trying out the Shower Spa and the In-flight Bar. The results were superb and I really like the huge size of the lavatory Emirates have compared to Etihad which has a much smaller shower lavatory inside. The bar too, had a comfortable atmosphere like the mood lighting for passengers to relax and chill. It was a long-haul flight and I had a very pleasant flight with no visible flaws in the services. The cabin crews were really friendly and truly I had a great time having conversations with them.

I have taken small amount of photos on this flight because I did not emptied my storage spaces on my phone and camera. But next time when I plan to travel longer routes with Emirates, you will see more photo reviews on that flight!


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page